dYIng

22Apr10

The slow death of Foodyi is killing me too. Suddenly I’ve lost that perspective that allows me to write whatever I feel (grammatical errors and all), whatever I want to say out loud without seeming consequences. But now that it has some bearing on my “professional” (and it has.. Brad if you’re reading this…hi) life, I’ve become a more nervous and doubting writer. Instead of imposing the seriousness of food as a subject at work onto my creative writing process, I should have  used my writing as more of an escape. Which I did for awhile.. and then it got to me. And then I got them confused. And then I got to where I am now.. writing once a month. Maybe it’s time for a new blog for a new perspective. Have you read The Food Whore? I think she does a great job recounting the day’s events as a chef in a restaurant kitchen. But I don’t know if I can handle doing it anonymously…I like associating myself with my writing. It’s not just a forum for funny stories for me…I don’t know I have to think about it for a bit.

In the meantime, I’ve moved on professionally. I’m at a new restaurant cooking new food with new people. New stories and new techniques to learn. SO much to learn.. and I’m stoked. So stoked…

6 Responses to “dYIng”

  1. 1 smelly

    You still sound sad in your writing. Sorry if my desire to live vicariously through you is causing you un-needed blog stress.

    Good luck, and shoot me a non blog email if you wanna chat about stuff…

    love you…

  2. 2 rachel

    No more Public? Sara will be heartbroken! 🙂

  3. 3 the running man

    Foodyi is dead! long live Foodyi!

  4. 4 smelly

    so are you one of the chefs that everybody gets to watch at the bar cooking? how fun!!!

  5. 5 foodyi

    Sorry i don’t mean to sound sad.. I’m actually really happy. Although yes, sad I can’t offer you regular updates, because my ass loves my couch too much.

    I WILL be in an open kitchen, so WHEN you come visit me you can see me at the new place 🙂

  6. Good for you Amy. It’s been some time, but coming back here makes me want to make that mac n’ cheese again. I’ll let you know how it turns out.


Leave a Reply

