Sunday Supper

21Aug09

This is a post of five cooks with five POVs, picked to be on the menu for one day only. To work together and be scrutinized by all…find out what happens when imaginations run wild and flavor combinations run unrestrained… Sunday Supper.

IMG_0814

IMG_0808

1. Pickled beet and Persian feta salad with duck confit and crostini

IMG_08172. Korean-spiced foie gras dumplings with a pork consomme and snow pea sesame salad

IMG_0819

3. Seared scallop with a warm salad of bacon, grapes, and frisee

IMG_08204. Duck and foie gras ballotine with braised lentils and cabbage, and marinated potatoes

IMG_0833

5. Vanilla and black olive semifreddo with a passionfruit curd, chardonnay sorbet on an almond tuile “spoon”

created by me!

I originally thought of combining black olives with vanilla when I had a black olive ice cream back at Sona in Los Angeles. Then drawing inspiration from the countless hours I’ve spent peeling soft-boiled quail eggs for work, I thought it’d be a clever idea to mold the speckled ice cream into eggs. I had to purchase the egg molds at a cake shop on my own, and the entire process ended up taking a few days, but it was worth it. I had to make the top and bottom of the semifreddo separately so I could fill each half with the custard, then fuse them together once they hardened a bit. Then I cut them in half with a hot knife as they came to order.

IMG_0822“Quail Eggs”

Some people were turned off with the idea of tart black olives being in their vanilla semifreddo, but I was also surprised to hear that a few thought they were chocolate chips when I asked them what they thought the black specks were. I loved the idea of biting into tart bits of saltiness in a sweet and creamy dessert, but never thought to think of cocoa nibs as having the same effect.

I was initially going to make another batch of eggs with the white wine sorbet and pair it alongside a whole semifreddo egg, but due to the lack of time and extra egg molds, I thought against it. Although my initial reason for using the white wine was for its color, it ended up giving a nice refreshing contrast to the creamy vanilla semifreddo.

The almond tuile came last minute when it was noted that I needed to add another textural element to the dish. After trying several options (crumbled pralines, toasted slivered almonds, blueberry compote…), I opted to make some tuiles a few hours before service started. I loved the idea of creating spoons out of the tuiles and having being able to lift the sorbet in one lift (or at least conceptually). I designed the shape I wanted out of a plastic lid and spread the tuile batter on the baking mat (sorry, no picture.. unfortunately. snapping pictures of your work is considered mildly unprofessional).

IMG_0831

So there you have it. My first official dish. Now, to tackle something savory. Just give me a week to unload my brain.

5 Responses to “Sunday Supper”

  1. 1 michelle

    um wow,

    was this open to the public, why was i not invited? 😉

    How are you? Miss giggling with you.

    xoxo

  2. 2 ken and hannah

    you made these??? it’s making us drooool. let’s have a potluck where everyone forgets to bring food but you

  3. 3 smelly

    so fun and inventive!!! and of course, impressive : )

  4. you are fantastic, Amy! Love your blog!


Leave a Reply

