Day 2

04Jun09

Out of the 2 days I’ve worked at The Restaurant, I’ve gone out after work both nights and came home around 4 AM. This is especially worrisome because I’m still mentally running on a 9-5 schedule, making me wake up at 7 AM on average. That leaves me having functioned for the past two days on 3-4 hours of sleep. I’m terrified of what’s to come.

These late nights also don’t make for a pleasant wake up as I’m completely exhausted by the time I get home and fall into my bed, pieces of food in hair and all. Some children hide teeth under their pillows in hopes that the tooth fairy will replace them with money. Does anyone know of a fairy that will pay for the pieces of dried pad thai under my pillow?

Another note to self, is to buy some loose fitting black pants. Either skinny jeans or my insistence to be fashionably conscious need to go out of style because sweating in tight pants makes for really uncomfortable bending of the knees. 

Oh, and a note to you patrons out there. Please stop telling your waiters that you’re allergic to garlic. Because if you were, you’d probably be allergic to onions, chives, shallots, leeks, all foods part of the allium family. And us cooks have nothing better to do than be smart asses about your supposed allergy and will remove all traces of the allium family from your food, leaving you with a boiled steak and a frisee salad. You can just say you don’t like garlic. We get it.   

I’m exhausted.

4 Responses to “Day 2”

  1. 1 A Loving Roommate

    RE: First Half of Post (Food in Hair)

    I’ve seen you sleeping and I can testify about the food-in-hair. You can’t seem to get away, even in your dreams.

    RE: Second Half Post (Garlic Allergies)

    Stop reading books about the “allium family” …. nerd.

  2. 2 smelly

    are you having fun though? : )

  3. 3 Shanna Gong

    I’m allergice to cilantro.

  4. 4 Shanna Gong

    allergic


Leave a Reply

