2 Weeks Notice

18May09

I don’t really know how to introduce the sudden decision I decided to make, except by saying it wasn’t as sudden and spontaneous as it sounds. We can start with the fact that I’ve been writing about food for the past two years on a blog with a name that makes Beyonce seem like Destiny’s illegitimate child. Or the fact that I’ve already cooked at a restaurant for a few months before I decided I wasn’t ready to give up my personal life, just yet. Or that I’ve been externing at this restaurant (read: work for free) for the past two months, sweating duck fat every Saturdays.

But as of this past Tuesday, I’ve officially “turned a whole new book,” and gave my two weeks notice at my current job, to pursue cooking full-time! Of course, if you’re my mom or unemployed, you’re thinking I must be crazy to give up a well-paying job and a very comfortable lifestyle, let alone during a recession.

It’s the most difficult decision I’ve had to make. To try and steer my own course, and forcibly put my feet down and deny temptations. I thought about going to culinary school for a really long time, going back and forth on whether I needed the credentials to succeed in this industry. But I knew I didn’t want another loan hanging over my head and burdening what would already be a difficult journey ahead.

It does take guts and a measurable amount of confidence in your abilities to take a risk. And I’m proud to have had enough to have made the decision. I don’t exactly know what I want to do with the experience and knowledge I’ll gain cooking at the restaurant (Restauranteur? Writer? Teacher? Culinary Tour Guide?). But I love the idea of exploring the possibilities, being able to write more, to freelance, to be entrepreneurial, and to try and discover my niche in the culinary industry. It’s going to be rough, don’t get me wrong. I will be out of sight, working all day and night, and making enough money to house the bed that will be my best friend for the next few years. I’ll scrape by and “live the dream.”

But by no means are my thoughts clouded with romantic ideals because I’m also scared shitless. Scared that I’ll grow tired of cooking and burn out like I did at the W Hotel. Scared that I’ll lose my motivation, knowing that I’ve reached my goal of being able to cook professionally. Scared that my obnoxious non-commital self will be revived. I’m diving in head first, but I’m hoping to come out with my feet firmly planted on the ground.

I’m a professional cook. Holy shit!

11 Responses to “2 Weeks Notice”

  1. 1 Heather

    YAY AMES!!! i’m proud of you and i know you’ll do well. after all, i would go to NO ONE else when i don’t know what kind of food i want….and it’s very rare that a person can get me to try stuff. 🙂 love you!

  2. 2 Collin

    Sounds like the beginning of a Molly Ringwald movie. Which means everything turns out fine in the end.

  3. 3 Shanna

    You rule. It’s a fact.

  4. 4 foodyi

    Thanks guys. Your support means so much!!

  5. wow, i just turned back to your site today after not checking in a long time, but looks like you came to a big conclusion! best of luck! I think you will make a mighty fine book.

  6. 6 Rachel

    oh my god – i’m so excited for you – I’m jumping up and down. so cool! so exciting! so inspiring! good luck! i want to visit my new york chef friend ASAP.

  7. 7 Sarina

    AMAZING!!! Good luck ams, you’ll be FABULOUS!

  8. 8 foodyi

    @mattatouille: thanks! If this blog ever turns into a book, then I’ll REALLY be scared. I’m sure I’ll have more interesting stories to write about here once the job starts…keep checking back!

  9. 9 Erica

    Mazel Tov!

  10. 10 smelly

    It was always meant to be. As long as I can get a table at your restaurant whenever I want : )

  11. 11 Alyjoy

    I AM SO PROUD OF YOU! Congrats! You are going to be great! I can feel it!


Leave a Reply

