East Meets West: Korean Deviled Eggs

16Mar09

img_0173

I wish I could say these Korean Deviled Eggs were a subconscious effort to marry my two identities: an epicurean metaphor to unionize my Korean cultural identity and Westernized shell.

But in all honesty, the thought didn’t even cross my mind until I wrote this post. And truth be told, I just had some left over kimchi stinking up the fridge that I had to get rid of before my roommate thought something else died in our kitchen.

Why do deviled eggs get such a bad rap? What’s so offensive about a creamy mixture of slightly salt, slightly tangy mashed egg yolks served in its own shell. Especially since an egg is one of the world’s most perfect foods, along with garlic, cheese and burritos. Obviously.

But first, the perfect hard boiled egg without getting that sewage green colored layer around the hard boiled yolk. There are a lot of directions floating around the web, but it’s pretty simple.

Get your water to a rolling boil BEFORE you put the eggs in the pot.

Make sure your eggs are at room temperature before you lower them into the pot (if they’re cold, the initial contact with the hot water will crack the shells)

Set timer for 7 minutes and boil until it goes ding ding ding.

Set boiled eggs in a bowl of ice water to stop the cooking.

Crack shells after they cool and lower them back into the ice water to loosen the shells for a peeling good time.

img_0167

Korean Deviled Eggs

Soy-Sauce Eggs

Start by semi-hard boiling 6 eggs for half the usual time, 3.5 minutes. Once you’ve shelled them, lower them in a mixture of equal parts soy sauce and water and let them simmer for approximately 20 minutes on low heat.  They should start getting a nice brown coloring.

Let them sit in the mixture for another 10-15 minutes or until you get the color you desire. Some recipes have these eggs seep for a much longer time which I was nervous about, but I think if you keep them at a low enough heat, you should do well without overcooking them and getting that green ring around the yolk.

Kimchi-yolk filling

Slice soy sauce eggs in half and scoop out  the yolk halves into a bowl.

Add about 1/4 cup of mayonnaise, 1/4 chopped kimchi, 1/2 tspn of wasabi, 1 1/2 tbpsn of chopped chives, and as many squirts of Srirachi (thai-style hot chili sauce) you’d like.

Mash up together and spoon into the egg white halves.

Garnish with leftover chives.

Afterthought: these aren’t the most breathe-friendly canapes to serve at a dinner party. So either serve these with a shot of mouthwash, or only invite couples too apathetic towards one another to care, whichever is easier.

9 Responses to “East Meets West: Korean Deviled Eggs”

  1. 1 Sean

    garlic, cheese, burritos

    garlic burrito?

  2. 2 foodyi

    Obviously!

  3. 3 smelly

    are you talking about me and Lindsey? You ARE, aren’t you!??!

  4. 4 foodyi

    DUH!

  5. 5 Scott

    I can only imagine how bad your breath (and farts were) after that! I’m surprised this is good with super fermented kimchee.

  6. 6 foodyi

    Don’t you know the staying power of kimchi? It lasts forEVER. When’s our next food marathon??

  7. Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  8. 8 Shanna

    this reminds me of the good old days back at Pi PHi, when all we had to eat on the weekends was hard boiled eggs and toast…

  9. Firstly, let me commend your clearness on this subject. I am not an expert on this subject, but after studying your article, my understanding has improved well. Please allow me to snatch your rss feed to stay in touch with any inflowing updates. Fabulous job and will pass it on to supporters and my blog followers.


Leave a Reply

