Recharged and Back in Peak Blogging Form

25Feb09

I’ve abandoned my blog for awhile now, I know. And I’m blaming it on my lack of camera for the past month or so. I absentmindedly left it in LA, and I’ve been draining its remaining power ever since.  I finally got a clunky replacement from overstock.com, so I’m back! But alas, with no pictures except for the ones that I found on my memory card.

img_0142

One of the random pieces of produce I received from my last CSA share was 1 plantain. The week before, I got a bunch of cilantro, so I put one and one together and enjoyed sauteed plantains for a snack. 

img_0139 An addendum to #22 on my list of 25 things: a picture of that crusty piece of sourdough with whipped cottage cheese and homemade fig jam. Might not look very appealing, but damn does it make your mornings 10x better. 

On another note, I’ve started to extern at a local restaurant nearby, and I can’t decide if writing my thoughts on working at said local restaurant nearby is appropriate, acceptable, completely warranted? I mean, I DO have a legitimate day job (which I really do enjoy). I guess I can always say said local restaurant nearby, but that’s like reading a blog about an anonymous reader and who lives in anytown, USA and writes about their unclaimed thoughts on life..BORING.  So, until I figure it out, I’ll tread lightly on this matter. 

I’ve started to go in once a week on Saturdays, shadowing the hot appetizer station as well as helping with the prep for both brunch and dinner service. Hopefully I’ll have more juicy stories once I get a regular schedule. But so far, the only things that have happened are I burned the palm of my hand covering a blender of hot soup with it and I accidently dropped oysters into the deep fryer from an inappropriate distance. It’s been awhile since I’ve been in a professional kitchen, but it’s coming back slowly and the back pains and sore calves I get the morning after surprisingly feel good. I might be buying into this whole “labor of love” cliche. Ask me again though when it starts becoming a 60 hour a week job rather than singing to Madonna’s top hits and mincing garlic on a Saturday afternoon. 

Why am I doing this? Because I’ve decided, at some point, when appropriate, and when financially plausible, I’ll be revisiting this passion of mine by sacrificing a regular work schedule, a decent paying salary, and any fashion sense by becoming a bandana clad, croc-wearing, cooking machine. Since I won’t be attending culinary school, I just tell myself I’ll have to be more pro-active, ask more annoying questions, and knock at twice as many swinging doors, to become the chef I want to be. For now, it’s an amazingly satisfying and a job that I actually look forward to every end of the week. So until I figure out what it is I’m officially doing, you can follow my kitchen stories and, hopefully, laugh and learn, about what it means to work inside one of the most “heated” industries. That phrase is so metaphorical of my schizophrenic professional resume, you don’t even know.

5 Responses to “Recharged and Back in Peak Blogging Form”

  1. 1 smelly

    seriously. I seriously miss you. And I want to cook (with) you.

  2. 2 Foxy

    Amy I heart you. You are meant to work in the most “heated” industry and I just love hearing you talk about it. One day friend…one day

  3. this is getting weirder, although i am more of an eater than a chef–i have often entertained the thought of getting a non-committal, on-the-side, kind of food related job.

  4. 4 Mike

    First blog I read after wakeup from sleep today!

    ________________________
    Proven! How to cure Acne Naturally.Email to mike.wilson80@ymail.com for more information.

  5. 5 Kristal

    Amyyyyyyyyyyy! I really love your blog…still…Keep it up. I miss you.


Leave a Reply

