Magnolia Bakery’s Banana Pudding

15Jan09

img_0014

I’m definitely a salty person (in life and kitchen). I’m not that girl that raves about cupcakes and chocolate. I rave about potato chips and salty tears. 

But you could say Magnolia Bakery’s banana pudding has blessed with me with a new sweet tooth. One that will eek! and ahh! for this magical dessert. 

img_00051

If you go to Magnolia, don’t get the overly hyped up cupcakes. It’s the banana pudding that’s their winner (even the workers there will tell you this). As you can tell from the picture above, it’s a very heavy dessert. It’s not too sweet though, just really dense and I’m usually done with it after a couple of spoonfuls. But those couple of spoonfuls…man, are they amazing.

Instead of water, the vanilla pudding is made with condensed milk and heavy cream. You can imagine what that does to the final product. It’s intensely creamy and dense, but again, not too sweet. The Nilla wafers and banana slices are layered in between the pudding. I especially like how the wafers will have softened around the edges having sat in the pudding but the middle of the wafers will still be crunchy. 

Volunteer to bring dessert to your next gathering with friends and you’ll definitely have the biggest crowd pleaser with this recipe. And it’s super easy 🙂 enjoy!

img_0008

Magnolia Bakery’s Famous Banana Pudding

Recipe from More From Magnolia by Allysa Torey

  • 1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk

  • 1 1/2 cups ice cold water

  • 1 (3.4-ounce) package instant vanilla pudding mix (preferably Jell-O brand)

  • 3 cups heavy cream

  • 1 (12-ounce) box Nabisco Nilla Wafers

  • 4 cups sliced ripe bananas

  1. In a small bowl, on the medium speed of an electric mixer, beat together the sweetened condensed milk and water until well combined, about 1 minute. Add the pudding mix and beat well, about 2 minutes more. Cover and refrigerate for 3-4 hours or overnight, before continuing. It is very important to allow the proper amount of time for the pudding mixture to set.

  2. In a large bowl, on the medium speed of an electric mixer, whip the heavy cream until stiff peaks form. Gently fold the pudding mixture into the whipped cream until well blended and no streaks of pudding remain.

  3. To assemble the dessert, select a large, wide bowl (preferably glass) with a 4-5-quart capacity. Arrange one-third of the wafers to cover the bottom of the bowl, overlapping if necessary, then one-third of the bananas and one-third of the pudding. Repeat the layering twice more, garnishing with additional wafers or wafer crumbs on the top layer of the pudding. Cover tightly with plastic wrap and allow to chill in the refrigerator for 4 hours – or up to 8 hours, but no longer! – before serving.

 

14 Responses to “Magnolia Bakery’s Banana Pudding”

  1. 1 sugarvanilla

    I love this pudding form Magnolia and have started stage 1 from last night. The pudding mixture with the evaporated milk/water and pudding mix is still really watery this morning. Is that right? Shall I just carry on and whip the cream and mix it in? I don’t want to wreck it.. I need it to be purrrrfect! Thanks!

    • 2 foodyi

      It should have set by 4 hours…I would make the pudding again before incorporating the whipped cream-that won’t help the pudding set. Not sure what happened??

  2. 3 jenna

    You mentioned you used evaporated milk..
    Condensed milk and evaporated milk are two separate things : )..
    Perhaps thats what made the difference? Amy?

    Jenna

  3. 4 foodyi

    yes! I don’t know why I didn’t notice that before…thanks for pointing that out Jenna! While both have had about 60% of the water evaporated, condensed milk has more sugar (about 40% of it is made of sugar).
    Unsweetened condensed milk= evaporated milk
    Sweetened condensed milk CANNOT be substituted

  4. 5 puddin'

    I had the same problem. It’s runny after leaving it overnight. And I used condensed milk. Any other ideas? I’m not sure what to change before trying it again.

  5. 6 puddin'

    Nevermind. I figured out the problem….my pudding was “cook & serve” not instant! oops

  6. 7 monica

    do you just pour the instant vanilla jello powder into the water and condensed milk concoction?

    • 8 foodyi

      yup, once the water and milk are fully incorporated, go ahead and pour the powder into the liquids and mix it until it’s a thick consistency. Then just make sure you let it set for however long the recipe says, that’s the most important part… (sorry for the late response!)

  7. 9 Welida

    Hi!
    I have a serious doubt about this candy… I from Brazil, and here we haven’t Nilla Wafers… so I’ll do it! Vanilla is not famous here… we don’t like it… so… my doubt is: the instant vanilla pudding mix is for we put just the powder or we have to do add milk?
    Kisses!!!

  8. 10 Christina

    if you leave the instant pudding/water/condensed milk mixture to set for around 15 minutes and whisk it occasionally, it will thicken. i was concerned, too, because the consistency was very runny after i whisked it for two minutes, but it started to thicken as it sat.

  9. 11 Nikki M.

    I know this is an old post… But I decided to try it to day.. when I mixed the condensed milk, water, and pudding mixture.. it was REALLY thick, as in it began to clump and stick to the mixture. is that right?

    • 12 Nikki M.

      I mean, “stick to the mixer”

      • 13 foodyi

        hmm was it unable to be scraped off the mixer? Or was it just thick. It’s think to begin with but not sure what your end result was. Did you continue?

  10. 14 Nikki M.

    it was just REALLY thick, like it looked like dough… I knew it was going to be thick, I just really didn’t know how thick, and I freaked a little. The recipe said 1 package of instant pudding or 3.4oz, I bought a box where 1 package = 1 oz, so I mixed 3 packages and a quarter of another. I assume thats why it was extremely thick. But after folding in the whipped cream, It looked a lot better and did the layering. It turned out fine, my family loved it (:


Leave a Reply

