Momofuku Bakery & Milk Bar

20Nov08

David Chang did it again. Here’s an FU to all those that doubted him, suggested his celebrity status was premature and unwarranted, and that his 15 seconds of fame were just about done. 

img_2913

Part of a growing list of restaurants under the Momofuku umbrella is the newly opened Momofuku Bakery & Milk Bar. Adjacent to Chang’s Ssam Bar, it shares the same sleek design aesthetic and some of the same menu items like the ever-popular pork buns. Pastry chef is Christina Tosi and along with Chang, they’ve created my ideal bakery, one where savory goods are just as “sweet” to be dessert. 

Seeing Chang’s empire grow kind of makes me pretty proud to be Korean. I mean who else is going to put kimchi butter on the menu?? But then again, it makes me bitter wishing I had thought of it first. 

img_2916

It’s salty, garlicky, and a little bit spicy and it goes great on… everything. At Momofuku Bakery, it’s served with the polenta blue cheese bread which is also amazing. 

img_2915

The most talked about baked good at this place is the Volcano, a calzone of sorts filled with things near and dear to Chang: bacon and fat. Specifically, bacon, potato gratin, and gruyere cheese. It’s pretty heavy and I wish it was a bit more cheesy (i.e. cheese strings oozing out), but it hit the spot (not sure if that spot was my stomach or heart, but I felt it). If you need more incentive, the guy next to me had TWO in one sitting. On TOP of the “egg mcmuffin” which I didn’t get.

img_2919

You can read more about the bakery and the other items on the menu here. I don’t feel like regurgitating an article I just read, but it gives a better overview if you’re interested. Some sweet items include the compost cookie that has chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, potato chips, and pretzels (again, why didn’t I think of that!) and “crack pie.”

The only thing I wish is that there was a coffee bar. Although I LOVE how he serves Korean drinks such as Sac Sac (you know, the super sugary juice with the real grapes or orange pulp in it!) and Korean ice coffee in a can. 

And like a true Asian, he has bottles of Sriracha on the tables for you to douse whatever you desire.

5 Responses to “Momofuku Bakery & Milk Bar”

  1. 1 smelly

    wow. you had me at compost.

    when do you come to LA in december and for how long?

  2. mmmm. volcano sounds delish.

  3. 3 Allyson Zimmerman

    Amy- Your blog is GREAT! And I LOVE Momofuku.. going there tonight 🙂

  4. 4 grace

    Kimchi butter… huh? That’s pretty genious. Great foodblog post!

  5. sac sac..i miss that.


Leave a Reply

