A New Kind of Rice & Beans

05Nov08

I finally had some time this weekend to go through the pile of magazines sitting in my kitchen and I found this article in the July issue of TIME magazine. This was also the same article that inspired my recent Gourmet Recession piece. Tom Colicchio can presumably feed 5 people for $10. That’s $2 per person. Seeing as how Tom has more experience and a wider range of culinary knowledge to take from, I’m giving myself 3 more dollars. Seeing as how I’m slowly turning into a food snob, I’m using that $3 to invest in some fancy brown rice.

img_2870

So back to $2. 

Boil 1/2 cup of lentils in water for 10 minutes or until fully cooked. Drain.

Add 3 tbspns of olive oil, 1 tspn of whole cumin seeds, 1 finely chopped garlic, and 1/2 of 1 yellow onion diced, to a separate pot. Saute for 1-2 minutes.

Add cooked lentils and 1 cup of rice. 

img_2869

Add 2 cups of low sodium chicken stock. Cover and keep on medium-low heat for about 15 minutes or until liquid has been absorbed. Let stand for 5 minutes. 

4-5 servings. 

img_2883

Apologies ahead of time for the shiteous picture, but that’s all I had time for before the hunger pangs stroke. And we all know I can’t ignore those! It’s SUPER easy, and a really great meal in itself. I served with a side of roasted cauliflower (only $2 a floret!).

(update: I’ve been eating this for 3 days now…and it’s still good)

 

Rice $3.50

Onion: $0.50

Chicken stock: $0.99

Leftover lentils, garlic, cumin seeds: $0

Total: $4.99

3 Responses to “A New Kind of Rice & Beans”

  1. 1 Heather

    can you make this for me? i LOVE beans. and rice.

  2. 2 Deb

    Cant wait to try this recipe on riley! I will give you an update when i do

  3. 3 Deb

    Riley absolutely loves this dish, i am making it again today and serving with a dollop of greek yogurt. Yum Yum, this just made Riley’s list of favorites.

    🙂


Leave a Reply

