Calling All Soup Nazis!

23Oct08

I was introduced to this genius idea by SCOTT MINERICH (single) called the Soup Swap. And I wish I thought of it sooner. But now that it’s fall in NYC, it’s the perfect time to start one.

If you’ve ever made homemade soup, you’ve gone through the pains of filling every bucket and bowl in the house with soup and more soup. And frankly, we’re tired of eating the same pureed food for a week straight. But the genius that is a soup swap resolves all this. Guidelines are simple and it makes for another fun gathering with all your chefing friends:

1. Each participant makes soup (ideally one that freezes well*) and divides it amongst however many servings that the group agrees upon.

Note: if they’re are vegetarians or guests with dietary restrictions, tell them to kindly remove themselves from the guest list the next time around

2. Label each disposable tupperware with a number and bring all containers to the party

3. Place the “soup selection” numbers in a container equal to the number of partiipants (for ex: if there are 6 participants, there should be 36 pieces of paper in the container). Take turns drawing numbers. Repeat until all soup is gone and each person has enough soup to last them for.ever.

SOOO… if you’re interested in joining my soup swap this fall, let me know! It will be sometime in November. I’ll send an email soon so we can try to make the selection of soups be as varied as possible. The possibilities are endless…

 

*cream-based soups don’t usually freeze very well, but theyre so damned good I think we can make an exception. And chili is DEF. a yes.

6 Responses to “Calling All Soup Nazis!”

  1. Wow; what a great idea! I am going to have to get a group together in my area!

  2. 2 EricaBeth

    If only I lived closer. You know I’d provide the mother of all matza ball soups.

  3. 3 Heather

    I am interested Ames. and i’m gonna go with…….pumpkin soup. but only because matza ball soup has already been called. it’s almost that time again. you know what i mean. sarina will too if she reads this.

  4. 4 foodyi

    Heather-I would include you, except I don’t want to be the one taking home 1 week old soup you’ve expressed mailed from Prague.

  5. 5 foodyi

    And I don’t know what you mean..

  6. 6 Margot

    I want in! i make a mean soup! I can even make yours without poison if you like…


Leave a Reply

