Things to do in NY for $1

09Oct08

Sometimes I have musings about things other than food. Yesterday I did the unthinkable. I sacrificed dinner…for something else.

Walking home from work I stopped by Strand Bookstore, “home of 18 miles of new, used, rare, and out of stock books.” I finally picked up a copy of The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera, a book I’ve been meaning to read and a book from the $1 section titled Things My Girlfriend and I Have Argued About by a British writer Mil Millington. As with all freebie things…we’ll see. Of course after leaving the bookstore, I”M STARVING. But I’ve also spent my daily allowance on books. Walking down St. Marks, I committed a sin under the unwritten laws of native NY unspeakables, buying a $1 slice of pizza…on St. Marks Place…sober…before 10 PM.This could be a new low…or a new high if you consider that I decided to feed something other than my stomach!

That $1 pizza sucked. Let’s hope that other dollar pays off.

And I’ll leave you with a genius dedication I came across while perusing the $1 section from the book of poetry titled Four Letter Words by Truong Tran:

“This book is for my cousin Nort who works at a triangle sandwich factory making the kinds of sandwiches one buys from vending machines this book is for his commitment to making delicious nutricious sandwiches but even more importantly this book is for the people who eat the sandwiches because they deserve delicious nutricious sandwiches free of preservatives.”

2 Responses to “Things to do in NY for $1”

  1. 1 Shanna

    that book is pretty awesome.

  2. 2 Ydun

    i love that book


Leave a Reply

