A Weekend My Thighs Will Never Forget Part 3

08Oct08

After roughly 72 hours of preparation, my stomach and I were FINALLY ready for my first official supper club get together in New York. We chose Spanish tapas as our theme, as we saw it as the fairest way to divide both the effort and dollar signs that go into a home-made dish.

I decided to construct the most elaborate dish for my contribution (how predictable…and telling??). Deep fried potato salt cod fritters served with a roasted garlic thyme aioli and a tomato caper thyme confit…with a wedge of lemon.

I’m proud to admit I hardly used a recipe, more so because I had both a lack/surplus of several ingredients. Although I have to give credit to Tyler Florence, as I used his recipe for salt cod fritters for “inspiration.” The length of time one has to soak the salt cod (also known as baccalà in Italian, bacalao in Spanish, or bacalhau in Portuguese) in water depends on how long the cod has been salted for. I would ask the store you purchased the salt cod from; mine only required 4 hours. You can always taste a small piece of the fish to check how salty it is. Changing the water frequently also helps. Here’s a good article on why you might consider eating salted cod even if you aren’t a pirate lost at sea.

I poached my fillet in some milk before adding it to my mashed potatoes to restore some of the moisture and texture it may have lost.

I purchased roughly half a pound of salted cod the other day, but once I let it de-salt (?) the fillet seemed to shrink a third of its size. That left me with about a 1 to 4 ratio with the potatoes I just boiled. Fish scented potato balls it is.  

Additional ingredients included 1 onion chopped (raw), 2 garlic cloves chopped, 1 tbspn of thyme, 2 tbspns of parsley, 1 egg, salt & pepper to taste (remember, the cod is already pretty salty).

 

I roughly spooned out dollops of my potato salt-code mixture and then put them in the freezer so that shaping them into balls would be much easier.

Once they are firm enough to handle, roll the mixture into tight balls and dip them in egg wash so the bread crumbs will stick.

That picture shows you my entire counter space. You can imagine the mess I made trying to create a deep-frying assembly line. Carefully drop the balls in vegetable oil that is at a temperature of 370 degrees.

  —–>    

Because I ran out of time, I made a short cut tomato confit with a can of diced tomatoes. Take 2 smashed garlic cloves and cook them in about 1/3 cup of olive oil in low heat or until they reach a nice tan color and can be easily mashed with the back of a fork. Make sure they don’t burn or they’ll taste bitter. Combine with a 16 oz. can of diced tomatoes and let simmer for roughly 40 minutes, or until the tomatoes are really soft. Mash tomatoes and garlic together. I added thyme and capers since that’s what I had in the fridge. S&P to taste.

Serve with a lemon wedge, hot or at room temperature.

 And of course, the night wouldn’t have felt complete if someone didn’t make a balls joke

I normally don’t recommend deep frying at home, and I’m not sure if I recommend it now. It was a pretty labor intensive process and one that I’d happily leave to more well-suited establishments with actual deep fryers and kitchen counter space. But I DO recommend eating salt cod fritters if you haven’t tried them. Heck, do I have to recommend eating anything deep-fried?

A few other dishes from the dinner party…

Our lovely host Gskram’s almond cake with vanilla whipped cream and rum soaked oranges

Scotty’s maple-glazed bacon wrapped dates stuffed with marcona almonds and chorizo, Z and Gskram’s collaborative sauteed ZUCCHINIS and onions

Matt’s AMAZING Spanish tortilla made with 1,000 glugs of olive oil

A snapshot of even smaller dishes preceding our small dishes.

5 Responses to “A Weekend My Thighs Will Never Forget Part 3”

  1. 1 smelly

    was this your new gnards? or is “supper club” your new gay version? what did everyone else make to accompany your salted balls?

  2. 2 foodyi

    It’s totally my NY gay supper club. How’d you know??

  3. 3 smelly

    how could I NOT know? Seriously though — what were all the other gay foods? We’re having our first re-imagined gnards tomorrow night. Lindsey’s law school homies have replaced andy, you and steve. similar theme: asian tapas, so no one feels overwhelmed by having an entire course devoted to them. more just snacking around. I’m making red miso souffles with yuzu ice cream : )

  4. 4 foodyi

    you WOULD make red miso souffles with yuzu ice cream. Leave it to Matt to make everyone feel inadequate!

    Miss your faces…whatever happened to our top secret blog project that would launch us head-first into foodtv fame??

  5. 5 smelly

    well, I’m also making a coconut thai shrimp taco, but nobody volunteered for dessert: so I decided to do both. And it’s not to make them feel inadequate, it’s to make them want to worship me : )

    I don’t know what happened to our joint blog. any great launching ideas?

    I miss your face, too. Why don’t you post it more?

    When is your iron chef event? When is gnards with Steve?


Leave a Reply

