Risotto with Leeks, Shiitake Mushrooms, and Truffle Oil

20Sep08

My roommate Rebecca’s birthday was last week. With about $24 to my name until the next paycheck came around, I resorted to what I always do for gestures of love: food!

For our first course, we had an herb salad tosssed in a light lemon vinegrette with roasted beets, gorgonzola cheese, and pumpkin-spiced pecans (from Whole Foods).

[picture not available; I blame bottle of wine #1]

Course 2 was the risotto with leeks, shiitake mushrooms, and [truffle oil]. In my hurried state of cooking, I almost barely remembered to take a picture of the risotto! Unfortunately, the vegetable stock I bought had this deep orange color, so the risotto came out looking a bit…well, orange.

This goes down as the best risotto I’ve ever made. It’s characteristically creamy and gooey, fragrant from the truffle oil, and the roasted shiitake mushrooms give it the earthly flavor and added texture to the dish. I discovered a new side dish while making the risotto. Creamed leeks. Like creamed spinach in texture. The leeks reduce down nicely and it has a great oniony flavor.

Finally, our light and casual weeknight dinner finished with Haagan Dazs vanilla ice cream with carmelized figs and reduced balsamic vinegar.

[picture not available; I blame bottle of wine #3 and the Swedish models downstairs]

I bet you’re thinking right now, “Wow…these posts are getting kind of… lame? What the heck is going on?Has she given up? Has this passion for food hit its peak? Has she finally shut up and said all she has to say about food??”

Oh you.. No, no. There’s still a little hamster in a wheel chasing that lingering piece of foie gras on a stick in my head. It’s a bit tired now, running on low, but we’ll be back soon.

Come October, I’ll hopefully be a harvest sharer at our local CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) center.  I’ll have POUNDS of vegetables to cook and eat. Oh and coming soon, my first Iron Chef challenge with Smith from Edacious1! We’re taking up two kitchens and will be getting all of our ingredients from the Union Square Green Market. This will definitely be an interesting challenge, as I don’t usually cook up a menu spontaneously without recipes or guides in hand. But looking forward to this very much so…

To be continued!

5 Responses to “Risotto with Leeks, Shiitake Mushrooms, and Truffle Oil”

  1. 1 smelly

    okay, so tell me more about the iron chef challenge. I’ve been trying to figure out a way to make a home kitchen into a kitchen stadium, but it seems impossible — especially in our budget. won’t you be bumping the shit out of each other? I looked at edacious1’s blog — and it seems like he was able to prepare recipes. won’t you be able to, too? And who is this competitor? His blog profile reveals nothing. Miss you so much!!!

  2. 2 foodyi

    We’d use two separate kitchens in an apt. building ( I believe one is on the floor above). Ideally, two apts across from each other would be best so you can share equipment and basic pantry ingredients. I think what we’d do is pick an ingredient, have a set amt. of time to buy additional ingredients and use the internet and then let natural talent take over!

    Miss you to :(. Young Smelly and I are doing a Gnards.. We’ll webcast you in!

  3. 3 AJ

    Oh Yi!! Amazing as usual… you are an inspiration to me and my lean cuisines! – maybe one day… but lets be real. I’ll just live vicariously through your posts. Keep them coming.

  4. This is an awesome site. I love the no nonsence approach without all the fancy frames and ads all over the page. I too love the concept of keeping it simple.


Leave a Reply

