Fiesta in your Mouth

08Jul08

I was tired from the night before. And it was 2 hours before show time. I spent all my money the night before. But I made a promise I had to keep. I needed a quick fix. And I needed it now!

Of course, I’m talking about the Fourth of July BBQ I was invited to last Friday. After rolling out of my bed (that’s actually an exaggeration considering if I actually rolled off my bed in either direction, I would be body slamming into a wall), I haphazardly put on whatever was on the floor, and dragged my sorry feet to the Whole Foods down the street. I had thoughts of making Mexican corn (aka elotes) prior to my supermarket visit, but it wasn’t until I walked in and saw the mountainous pile of corn that I knew. And at 3 for $0.99, we were meant to be.

Mexican corn on the cob is often sold as a street food in Los Angeles along with the fresh cut fruit in a bag, chili spiced mangoes, and the mother of all street foods: bacon wrapped hot dogs. Oh and you can’t forget the tacos in the Mexican catering carts and the popsicles in those rolling refridgerators with the bells attached to the handles. BTW, those tacos/burritos in the catering carts are DAMN good. Although you might want to wait till after work, because they tend to put you in a comatose state after lunch hour.

BUT I DIGRESS. Elotes are traditionally grilled in the husk and served with toppings such as mayo, cojita cheese, chili powder, and lime juice. In our case, we smothered each cob with all of the above, giving food purists a run for their money.

Peeling off the charred husk revealed a beautiful quilt of yellow and white kernels. I remember as a child, I would peel each kernal off once by one. When they came off effortlessly and the bite produced a sugary snap in my mouth, I knew my efforts weren’t in vain.

Once they’re cool enough to handle, they were quickly smeared with some of my homemade batch of basil aioli. Then they were laced with crumbles of cojita cheese. Cojita cheese doesn’t melt completely, but softens just enough to hold on to the kernels for dear life. Finish it off with an ample shower of chili pepper and lime juice, and prepare yourself for a fiesta in your mouth.

The task may seem quite daunting at first, but when you take your first bite into the cob dripping with melting aioli and every kernel seems to pop in perfect procession against your teeth and the sweet, sweet juice of the corn and the sour pulp of the lime juice fireworks into your eyes and you feel the juice making its way down your arms…. UGH!!! Orgasmic.

It’s a dirty cob. But someone’s got to eat it.

Basil Aioli

1/2 cup of mayonnaise (home-made or store bought if in a hurry!!)

1/2 cup of sour cream

1/2 cup of basil, packed

1 large garlic clove…or more 😉

1 tbsp of lemon juice

2 tbsp of olive oil

salt to taste

[If you’re fortunate enough to have a food processor, this recipe will be much kinder to you. Otherwise, you’ll have to sweat through chopping a ridiculous amount of basil. If you’re one of the unlucky, I hope you have air conditioning.]

Food processor: Put basil, garlic, lemon juice, and olive oil in the jar and pulse until finely chopped. Scrape down the sides every once in awhile.

By hand: Find old sweatband inside your sock drawer and place over forehead. Keep feet wide apart for stability. Chop nonstop until you feel the beginning pains of what feels like Carpal Tunnel. Continue to chop. Because if you stop…god knows you’ll never chop basil again.

Combine basil with garlic, lemon juice, and olive oil into a paste, making sure the ingredients blend seamlessly into each other like a… MACHINE would.

Whether you made the basil mixture by hand or food processor, combine the basil mixture with mayonnaise, sour cream, and salt to taste.

Refrigerate for at least 2 hours to make sure the flavors combine.

Use as a spread, dip, sauce or whatever you use mayo for!

6 Responses to “Fiesta in your Mouth”

  1. 1 Alissa

    Best Corn I ever had! Luckily I had Foodyi to prepare it for me.

  2. i love a girl who loves her food.

  3. 3 Shanna

    If I remember correctly the correct term is “party in your mouth” and that refers to chasing vodka shots with sour patch kids.

  4. 4 Collin Wood

    It wouldn’t have been a 4th of July party without a little Mexican food.

  5. 5 zestyone

    yum, amy! i heart elotes (the spanish phrase for mexican corn on the cob)!

    jennikim

  6. 6 Keta

    Never had this perticular Elote. But it sound phenomenol. U guys should also try corn on the cob wit; mayo, butter, conjita cheese, cayenne pepper, n sprinkled with lime juice…I’m telling u guys its to die for.


Leave a Reply

