The Mac n Cheese Recipe With TMI

02Jul08

Last weekend saw the first of hopefully many rooftop barbecues here in NY. I figured my mac n cheese would be a good portable and non-offensive potluck contribution. It wasn’t until my one vegetarian friend said he would be arriving late, that I reached over to the prosciutto I bought just in case and shredded it all over the dish last minute, making sure each bite would be as offensive as possible.

I arrived at the said rooftop with the said mac n cheese, now on the warm side. Aside from the guacamole, I think it was the only thing that was prepared beforehand. I got the usual comments like “Oh wow…you actually made something” as if I was out of line and the “woa! When did you have time to do all this” as if I like to do nothing more than slave away in the kitchen………….

I felt kind of awkward knowing with how much time and $ I invested into it. But I only have to revert to this picture I found on Dorie Greenspan’s website of food bloggers Dave Lebovitz and Meg snapping away at their foods to know I’m not crazy!

Now before I start sounding completely ungrateful and elitist, the bbq was amazing and super fun. The food was fabulous and that Nathan’s hot dog is probably one of the best I’ve ever had. BBq’s aren’t so much about the food as they are about the company you keep. Whenever people ask me about my favorite restaurant, I don’t think about the food, I think about the experience I had. So I hope I don’t offend anyone with my comments…

ANYWAYS. I was instantly nostalgic for the dinner parties I had LA with a little group named gnards. Not ONLY was the company great, but to top it off, everyone was as obsessed with food as I am, making for an even GREATER experience.

I’m sure a few of you can relate. Those that have been fortunate enough have a group of people that is as obsessed as you are about a subject whether it’s music, literature, a certain kind of humor, drugs, boozing at bars, etc. You can talk about it forever and do nothing else besides all things related for days. I’m very fortunate to have friends who share many of my other interests and I love each moment of it. But I can’t help but still want a group of fellow foodies!

Cooking alone is like drinking in a cold, damp closet by yourself: you don’t necessarily want to do it by yourself, but because you love it so much you’d rather go at it alone than not (this comparison only works assuming you’re an alcoholic and secretly savor both the taste and destructive aftermath of drinking alcohol) And then there’s that whole ultimate spiraling into a dangerous pattern of obesity and depression sorta thing.

Totally kidding. And this isn’t a call for volunteers for me to feed. It’s just like finding any good friend. Finding someone that shares your interest and someone you can communicate with at the same level, whether it’s about trashy tv or trashing tv. I’m sure many others can articulate this better than I can. But maybe my broken stream of consciousness makes sense to someone. Preferably someone who’d like to go foraging for mushrooms. 😉

Eating is unavoidable even to the most anorexic of people. It’s the most primitive survival mechanism and it will forever be apart of everything we do. And the difficult part for me is to know not everyone understands it the way I do. The reasons for eating can range from pleasure to necessity. Most fall in the middle like the BBQ. But I definitely live to eat and don’t see it any other way. I guess I’ll just have to suppress my obsession for food until I meet my other halves.

Truffle Infused Mac n Cheese with Crispy Prosciutto

(All measurements are approximate as I just put this recipe together right here and now)

Boil 1 12 oz. box of small elbow macaroni til al dente and put in colander.

Toss macaroni with 2 tbspns of white truffle oil and put to the side.

In a large saucepan or sauté pan, sauté one package of Prosciutto or American bacon, chopped until brown and crisp. Remove excessive oil but leave some behind…

Chop 2 medium sized leeks and 3 large shallots, mince 5 garlic cloves, and add to prosciutto/bacon mixture and sauté for 3-5 minutes.

Add 1 cup of milk , ½ cup of heavy cream, and 1/3 cup of flour to mixture and cook until mixture comes to a boil and is thickened slightly. Remove from heat and add 5 oz. of shredded sharp white chedder, 5 oz. of shredded smoked gouda or gruyere, and a little bit of Brie cheese if you’re feeling EXTRA fatty. Add about 1/4 cup of roughly chopped basil now, optional (more so because I forgot to in my own dish).

Combine noodles and sauce and put in a baking dish.

In another saucepan, melt ½ a stick of unsalted butter. Once the butter begins to bubble, add about 1 cup or more of Panko crumbs and toss until crumbs brown slightly.

Top baking dish with Panko crumbs and extra Prosciutto crumbles if you have any. Preheat oven to 375 degrees and bake dish for 30-40 minutes or until top turns brown. Finish off with chopped Basil and serve.

 

3 Responses to “The Mac n Cheese Recipe With TMI”

  1. 1 Shanna

    I think you can offset the drinking-induced obesity by smoking vast quantities of cigarettes. You should find a soup kitchen to donate dishes to every now and then. Homeless people are REALLY into food.

  2. 2 andres

    awesome amy! im glad we share a similar mac-n-cheese recipe. I dont really like crispy prosciutto but everything else is pretty much the same….keep on cooking! one on one mac-n-cheese competition sometime? hehehe

  3. 3 rachel

    your blog is one of the only websites that isnt blocked by my work… but i have to stop reading it at work because it makes me too hungry!


Leave a Reply

