Pizza My Heart

29Apr08

My days in my first NY apartment are dwindling and so are the opportunities to have dinner parties. Since my new apartment has a maximum capacity of 5 before it turns into a fire hazard, I’m trying to make the most of the space here in my Brooklyn apartment. And since my lovely Ericabeth (I won’t use your other nickname for the purposes of keeping this post G-rated…) was in town, it was the perfect time for a pizza party!

After a brief tour of Williamsburg, we stopped by my favorite cheese store to pick up some ingredients. In the corner of my eye, I saw it. A clear container filled with water and a plastic bag of cheese wrapped with a vibrant green leaf.

Burrata is an Italian cheese made of mozzarella and cream. I’ve written about it before and it’s definitely one of my favorite cheeses. It melts really nicely and is perfect on pizza. It’s rich and very creamy and is a bit saltier than mozzarella (at least I think so). If you’re not making pizza, it goes great with salad or crusty bread.

So I picked up some Burrata and goat cheese for the Shiitake & Cremini mushroom pizza. Then the handsome cheese man suggested the Merguez Sausage for our second pizza. It’s a spicy North African sausage made of lamb and beef and popular in France and other European countries. It’s also another reason why I MUST go to France. Oh right. I AM (July 2008-European Extravaganza). You can definitely taste the lamb, but not in that gamey sense. The meat inside the casing didn’t feel like what you would taste in your standard sausage-It felt like it was put through a really fine grinder, thus giving it a crumblier texture. But it definitely wasn’t dry-oil was squirting left and right as it was being grilled.

We decided to make the pizza dough by hand. I’m not a fan of Trader’s Joe’s dough. It’s too chewy. And plus-pizza dough is one of the easiest things to make.

I added sugar to this one, but next time I think I will use honey. Dough should always be left to rise in a warm place. If you can’t find one I would suggest heating your oven to 200 degrees, turning it off, then putting in the plastic covered bowl of dough, and letting it sit there until it rises (about an hour).

Erica just got her nails done and I put her to work. But she made her first homemade pizza!

Pizza with Burrata cheese, goat cheese, Shiitake Mushrooms, Cremini Mushrooms, and caramelized onions

Oh and my favorite picture from Seder. Just cus.

Pizza recommendations:

John’s of Bleecker Street-278 Bleecker Street, between Jones Street & Morton Street New York, NY

-no slices, only whole pies. Long wait but worth it. One of the few coal fired, brick oven pizzerias in the city

Luzzo’s-211 1st Ave. New York, NY

-One of the most amazing soups I’ve ever tasted. I think it was a special soup of the day though. It was like a minestrone with gnocchi, but it’s not the cheese gnocchi soup on their regular menu. Might be the minestrone has gnocchi in it?? Might want to check..but it’s REALLY good.

Nick’s Restaurant & Pizzeria-1814 2nd Ave New York, NY

-excellent thin, crisp pizza. True Italian

Mulberry Pizza-240 S Beverly Drive Beverly Hills, CA

-excellent oversized thin crust pizza

Rocco’s Pizza-6335 Wilshire Blvd. Los Angeles, CA

-I’m partial to it because I worked across the street. Although I have gone there during the weekend

Pizzeria Mozza- 641 N. Highland Los Angeles, CA

-Not for the hype, but for Nancy Silverton’s amazing bread. Soft, chewy, crispy with a slightly charred crust brushed with olive oil and salt. It takes you through all the stages of biting into the perfect piece of bread

3 Responses to “Pizza My Heart”

  1. ok now thats making me soo hungry at 1:30am LOL

  2. 2 Shanna

    I’ve been to Mulberry’s before! It’s really good. Nice rec.

  3. 3 EricaBeth

    Ummm correction: I suggested the burrata. Way to take all the credit! However, I’m so impressed! It looks so profesh in blog form and I’m honored to be a part of it.


Leave a Reply

