Mushrooom Mushroooom!

24Apr07

The Food: Morels

I’ve only recently discovered the wonders of morels. They are wild mushrooms that are part of the same fungus species as truffles. There are spongy in texture, honey combed and spear shaped. You can probably find them dried or canned at your local supermarket. Try going to a Whole Foods or another “gourmet” market to find them fresh. They don’t particularly have a season and thrive in various regions so you can probably find morels packaged one way or another.

There are plenty of morel fan clubs as I’ve noticed… There is thegreatmorel.com, morels.com, mushroomexpert.com, http://www.morelmania.com, magic-mushrooms.net,etc. Wait, I don’t think the last one is the same. I think I would like to go mushroom hunting one day. Except I don’t know a single person who would jump to do this with me without getting the wrong idea. Oh well-alas I wait for my foodie soulmate.

I haven’t done much cooking with morels but I’m sure you can use them like any other mushrooms. They’re a bit nuttier? and earthy in taste. One reason is because they’re extremely expensive. I went to Whole Foods the other day and a pound of morels would have cost me $45 (granted one morel weighs practically nothing). I think I walked out with 5 mushrooms and paid $4. sad. Anyways.. here is a recipe I tried out of Martha’s magazine.

The Recipe:
Sunny Side Egg over Toast with Morel Cream Sauce and Roasted Asparagus

I cant seem to find it on Martha’s website, but here is what I remember…

Mix 1 cup of ricotta cheese, 1/4 tspn of salt, and a pinch of pepper in a bowl. Set aside.

Melt 2 tbspns of unsalted butter in a pan. Saute a handful of morels (or whatever you can afford!). Set aside.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place asparagus on a cookie sheet and drizzle with olive oil, kosher salt, and pepper. Roast in oven until tender or about 15 minutes.

In a separate pan, one thinly sliced shallot in butter. Pour 1/2 of dry white wine in the pan and simmer until all the alcohol has evaporated. Then add 3 tbspns of heavy cream into pan (don’t try to be healthy and use yogurt or non fat milk.. trust me). Add 1 tspn of lemon juice and some finely chopped parsely and chervil. Simmer until sauce thickens. salt and peppa. Add morels to sauce and remove from heat.

Fry one egg sunny side up. OR you can poach your egg in a shallow saucepan of simmering water. Add some vinegar to your water to help the egg keep it’s shape while being poached.

Toast a slice of your favorite piece of rustic bread. Spread with ricotta mixture.

Serve with egg on top of browned toast with roasted asparagus and morel cream sauce over the top. Enjoy!

The Restaurant:
Closed.

No Responses Yet to “Mushrooom Mushroooom!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

